Thoughts

  • Decide if you want a podiatrist or orthopedist surgeon. I had an orthopedist & advised from others to go that route
  • I strongly advise you get recommendations from actual people for the doctor you choose. I had 2
  • Can the doctor do the surgery during the beginning of the week, preferably in the morning? Doctors are human, by Friday afternoon they may be exhausted – you don’t want surgery then.

Questions for the Doc & Staff

  • What fees need to be paid up front? What is the normal range? the surgery center fee was my up front fee
  • How long should someone stay with me as I recover? I comfortably “used” my husband quite a bit for at least 3 weeks
  • How soon will I be able to drive?
  • How early should I bear weight on the foot? they had me bearing weight on my heel on the way home from surgery
  • When do I wash the foot myself?
  • What is the estimated recovery time frame? 6 weeks best case for me
  • What is the estimated time frame I will need to be off work? 6 weeks for me
  • What is my insurance reporting as my coverage? [After you have scheduled the surgery] call your insurance company as well
  • Ideally, how many hours a day do I need to keep the foot elevated & iced? For how long? I needed it 23 hours / day the first week, most hours / day the second & third, & still doing it 1/2 the day around 4 week mark…
  • Can I have a doctor’s note for school? they gave me one
  • Will anyone ever be alone with me while I am under anesthesia? [This answer should be no] no, they said this was against the law as well
  • When do I start taking the prescription pain medication? it was 4 hours after the surgery for me
  • What is your infection rate? should be low
  • Do you recommend I correct both feet at one time? my doctor did not – it is alot of work for whomever cares for you afterward, & I personally could not imagine double pain!
  • How soon can I have the other foot corrected? mine said 8 weeks
  • How can I prevent future bunion issues after surgery? see my section on Interesting Bunion Info
  • What are the anticipated benefits of my surgery? How likely are they? mine were decreased pain, mobility & function restoration & he anticipated good likelihood
  • What procedures do you recommend for my situation? mine were right bunionectomy, hallux osteotomy, 2nd PIP resection, & 2nd metatarsophalangeal release
  • How often do you do the procedures I plan to have? I think he said every couple months
  • What medications do you prescribe after the surgery? mine was just percocet
  • Where will the surgery take place? I had the option, but it ended in a connected surgery facility (note: this may make a huge difference with fees)

About asoley

Disciple of Jesus, wife, student, worker, reader, fisher[wo]man, fisher of man, 29 years of age, animal lover, writer...

Leave a comment